Skip to content

400th Anniversary of the King James Bible

November 16, 2011

Today is the 400th anniversary of the publication of the Authorised Bible, otherwise known as the King James Bible (KJV), a translation which has effected the English language and can be heard  throughout English literature as well as in common phrases today.The tranalsation had political consequence at the time and united a kingdom at a time of religious dissent and has since been used by people right across the Christian spectrum.

I wonder which phrase, verse or verses you have most enjoyed from the KJV Bible – is it ‘apple of my eye’, ‘from the mouth of babes’ or something else? Leave your favourites in the comments section below.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2011 5:14 pm

    Vivat Jesus

  2. November 16, 2011 5:46 pm

    I do love returning to my KJV from time to time and reading Scripture in an older language..it makes it seem more poetic 🙂 Haven’t been in it for awhile, so not sure I have a particular phrase I can recall that is associated with its style..I mostly read from the ESV 🙂

    • November 16, 2011 5:50 pm

      Thanks Jessica, I like the NRSV and use the NIV at my church 🙂 thanks for stopping by!

  3. November 16, 2011 6:57 pm

    2 Cor. 10:4-5 “For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal, but mighty through God to the pulling down of strong holds. Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ.”

  4. November 16, 2011 8:48 pm

    “Come unto me, all ye that travail and are heavy laden, and I will refresh you.” Matthew 11:28
    Happy Birthday, King James Bible!

    Thanks for posting this, Mike. I use the NRSV and NIV for my devotions.

    Blessings to you!

  5. November 16, 2011 8:52 pm

    This verse was prayed over Pete and I during our engagement period and has been a standard in our household ever since: Galatians 6:9
    King James Version (KJV)
    9And let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not.

  6. November 16, 2011 8:55 pm

    For where two or three are gathered together in my name, there am I in the midst of them

  7. November 17, 2011 3:22 am

    All of Michaela’s Bible study has to be done from the King James Version. It is difficult for a young teenager to understand the language. Sometimes, I have to revert back to my other Bible to get the meaning of a verse. But it is my favorite Bible 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  8. November 19, 2011 9:45 pm

    2 Corinthians 5:11

    Knowing therefore the terror of the Lord, we persuade men; ……..

  9. November 21, 2011 5:43 pm

    Acts 8:30 And Philip ran thither to him, and heard him read the prophet Esaias, and said, Understandest thou what thou readest?

  10. November 22, 2011 4:16 am

    I do love returning to my KJV from time to time and reading Scripture in an older language..it makes it seem more poetic Haven’t been in it for awhile, so not sure I have a particular phrase I can recall that is associated with its style..I mostly read from the ESV
    +1

Leave a comment