Skip to content

Foundations for life which won’t crumble?

March 8, 2011
tags: , ,
by

solid foundations standing firmYou know when a line from a song strikes you? Well, I was struck by a line from a song a while ago, it was; “if all beneath me falls away, I know that you are God”.  It got me thinking about what is beneath me, as my foundation? What do I subconsciously and consciously rest and rely on? Where’s my SECURITY? If certain things in my life did fall away, or disappear, what would make it hardest for me to say to God – you ARE God, you are still good, you are still in control? If certain things were taken away from me, would I find it hard to trust God’s goodness and the fact that He is in control? Would I find it hard not to doubt that God is God?

Society tells us that our foundation should be money, or self-belief, or family, or a job – and of course, these things aren’t intrinsically bad, but they can fall away. As a foundation to build our lives on, they can crumble and they can disappoint – and often they do; they are changeable. Sadly a job can be lost, a friend can disappoint, money can all too easily disappear, self-belief can be shattered when we mess up…and if that’s what we rely on, where does that leave us? If our security is in those things it can leave us feeling hopeless and crushed. I’m sure we’ve all felt some degree of the disappointment that comes from misplaced trust, which can leave us feeling empty…

The line of the song particularly struck me because at the time I didn’t have a job, income was low, the future was uncertain and it was hard. BUT it struck me that it was not a completely hopeless and crushing situation, because my foundation isn’t in a job, or in money; it is in God; He is so good, He is so loving and HE is the only who who doesn’t change or fall away. It’s all very well to know the theory, but it’s quite something else to cling onto God when times are tough and other things do fall away and I pray God will keep me saying that He is God, completely good and in control, even when those inevitably tough times come…

‘Yes, my soul, find rest in God;
my hope comes from him.
Truly he is my rock and my salvation;
he is my fortress, I will not be shaken.
My salvation and my honor depend on God;
he is my mighty rock, my refuge.
Trust in him at all times, you people;
pour out your hearts to him,
for God is our refuge.’

Psalm 62:5-8

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2011 2:11 am

    I have been there, lost my job, lost my best friend and soul mate, and felt the devistation of being depressed at one point so much that I was ready to drive my car off a bridge. Until one day when I thought things couldnt get any worse, my well pump went (no water), my key got stuck in the ignition and i found out my husband was gay! I sat in my car and cried ready to take the final drive until I took a deep breath and asked God to give me a sign , show me he was still with me and quiding me and all of a sudden the key that was stuck in my ignition freely became loose and fell out. Mind you, that key I was told by two mechanics would not be able to be fixed without a price tag of $500.00 to replace the cylinder, they tried effertlessly to remove it for me and could not get it to come out. Well God showed me he was with me that day and never left me. So from then on I was able to deal with anything because I knew he had me on a path and someday I would be rewarded ..that was 8 years ago and now I am happily remarried to the most wonderful man and I run my own business and have a wonderful life. So, yes God will be there when your foundation drops beneath your feet with a cloud to keep your self afloat and survive whatever happens around you. God Bless Thank you!

  2. March 9, 2011 9:18 pm

    I have always believed that God comes first in my life, then family, then all else. Sometimes though, I am guilty of not putting God first. It’s not intentional, it just happens. In my life, everything goes better with God in it, not out of it:)

  3. Natalie permalink
    March 13, 2011 4:49 pm

    Thanks for your comment Mary – I know what you mean! I think it’s a battle we all face to keep God in His rightful place in our lives…it’s so easy to know the theory that God should always come first in my life, but I think it will always be a battle to keep Him there, especially with how busy life can be! It is definitely so much better when I’m consciously trying to make time to spend with God, to talk to Him and keep Him in his rightful place!

  4. March 27, 2011 2:00 pm

    I really enjoyed this post! A life structure without God as the foundation is sure to crumble. But in our humanness we often disconnect from his word and it’s our responsibility to stay prayed up and seek him in good times and bad. The past few years have been rough for me, but I have been able to sustain and maintain because of my faith. Without it, I’d be nothing and nowhere!

    Blessings to all!

    Tamstarz

  5. April 16, 2011 9:04 am

    Family before anything else as I can try to protect and nourish them. Give them hope and love. I can touch and hold them. I can hear them talking and singing. I have photos to prove it…

    A

  6. April 16, 2011 11:30 pm

    hi mike… i think this is a good ground for sharing… it’s when i’ve grown so comfortable with my life that God knocks at my heart and tells me it’s time to go…

    i was a missionary for ten years… it is the life i’ve known for a decade… then one day, He gives me an earthquake and tells me to go back to my country and do something else for Him…

    it was there that I realized how difficult it is to obey… to leave the land I like… the people I shared my life with…and start all over again from zero…

    http://grazieadio.blogspot.com/2011/02/one-of-most-radical-demand-for-you-and.html

    it was after this that i adopted my spiritual director’s “tent spirituality”… always leaving that sacred space for the Holy Spirit to work within me…

    • April 17, 2011 8:01 am

      Thanks Melissa, really interesting thoughts. Looking forward to reading your blog. I’ve not heard of ‘tent spirituality’ before but we must always be willing to follow God wherever He leads!

  7. May 20, 2011 3:01 pm

    “and if that’s what we rely on, where does that leave us?” It left me feeling hopeless, inadequate, and like an outsider. Praise God that once I found Him, He gave me victory in Jesus!

    I also find life runs more smoothly when God remains first, followed by family, church family, others and myself last.

  8. May 28, 2011 6:21 pm

    Great post! I personally have been thinking of the same things as I am out on a limb kind of with a leap of faith. (How is that for mixing metaphors? LOL) Where does our security lie? I know for me, I am trying to daily walk it out with my security in Him.

Leave a Reply

