Skip to content

Blessings Unseen

April 29, 2011

I found this song really encouraging…

I think that we can often expect God to answer our prayers in the ways we want, or the ways we expect, but this song is a great reminder that God IS working and He IS answering our prayers. He may not be answering in the way we expect, it may not make life perfect and easy in this life, but that doesn’t mean that God isn’t listening or acting. We don’t see the big picture like God does, we’re not completely good like God is…and He can, and does, use seemingly hopeless things for good. I think this song is a great encouragement to keep TRUSTING in God and His goodness, even if we can’t easily see it…

I’d love to know your thoughts about the song…

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2011 6:03 pm

    What beautiful words that are eerily true. This song is somewhat sad because reality can be scary. At the same time, it is encouraging, as it does ring true. I would like to share it on my blog!

    PS You can join CBC at http://www.facebook.com/home.php?sk=group_157432484313627&ap=1 8^)

    • Natalie permalink
      May 30, 2011 9:22 am

      So glad you found it encouraging; like you say the reality can be scary, but at least it helps to remind us that God’s with us and He has a plan. Glad you liked it enough to put it on your blog too! 🙂 Thanks!

  2. May 1, 2011 2:04 pm

    Hi there! I absolutely LOVE this song! This song reminded me of this poem:

    Just A Weaver
    by Benjamine Malachi Franklin

    My life is but a weaving,
    between my God and me,
    I do not choose the colors,
    He worketh steadily.

    Ofttimes he weaveth sorrow,
    and I in foolish pride
    Forget He sees the upper,
    and I the underside.

    Not till the loom is silent,
    and the shuttles cease to fly,
    Will God unroll the canvas,
    and explain the reasons why

    The dark threads are as needful
    in the skillful weaver’s hand
    As threads of gold and silver
    in the pattern He has planned.

    I love your blog….LOVE IT! 🙂

    • May 2, 2011 1:37 am

      I love that poem, Elisabeth Elliot use to quote this in her messages that I heard her speak.

    • Natalie permalink
      May 30, 2011 9:24 am

      Thank you so much 🙂 Love the poem – especially;

      Ofttimes he weaveth sorrow,
      and I in foolish pride
      Forget He sees the upper,
      and I the underside.

      How true it is – we just see the messy side of the canvas, with all the threads sticking out and we can’t see the big beautiful picture He’s weaving on the other side!

      Thank you for sharing!

  3. May 29, 2011 1:14 pm

    I can’t seem to see videos on blogs for some reason, but I love the points you bring up. I was reading Romans this morning and it reminds me a bit of Romans 8:26 26 In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans.

    Oftentimes the way we want or expect our prayers to be answered aren’t according to His Will. He sees so much more than we do! I completely agree when you wrote: We don’t see the big picture like God does, we’re not completely good like God is…and He can, and does, use seemingly hopeless things for good.

    Blessings to you and Natalie on this Sabbath 🙂

    • Natalie permalink
      May 30, 2011 9:27 am

      Thank you Jessica; I really appreciate your comment 🙂 How true the words are of Romans 8:26…and the reminder that follows in verse 28; And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.

      Great Passage…Thank you for pointing me back to it 🙂

  4. May 29, 2011 1:19 pm

    Thank you for sharing this song. I think there is a lot of truth to it. The painful parts of my life have taught me a lot. I’d like to go back and handle them better, but I don’t think I’d like to go back and avoid them. And I do know God was and is with me every step of the way.

    You have given me several ideas for future blog topics, and I thank you for that, as well. Oh, and I am following you as of now!

    Blessings,
    Orea
    http://orea-highervoice.blogspot.com/

    • Natalie permalink
      May 30, 2011 9:35 am

      Thank you Orea, I’m glad that you found the song useful. It is so true that looking back we can often see more of what God was doing than when we were in the midst of sufferings and difficulties. Hindsight can be useful!

      Thank you for following us too! 🙂

  5. June 6, 2011 8:04 am

    I’m a teary-eyed right now. I dunno why but maybe God made a way for me to cheer up. Maybe you are His way for me to go back to my old self as a happy and cheerful lass. I really easily get depressed. Just like these past few days, I’m feeling a bit depressed but with you .. I’m starting to see things .. Amidst everything, God is always here by my side. =) I know He has (better) plans for me.
    Thank you.Thank you for your post.

    http://fayerydust.blogspot.com/2011/06/angel-in-disguise.html

Leave a Reply

