Skip to content

The faith of John Chrysostom

January 26, 2012

John Chrysostom (347AD-407AD), eventually patriarch of Constantinople, earned the nick name “golden-mouth” because of his eloquent sermons against the lavish excesses of his day. This earned him no favour with Roman authorities and when he was brought before the Roman emperor he was threatened with exile if he remained a Christian. Chrysostom’s reply to the emperor reflects the insight of one who understands that true freedom in life comes with freedom in the Spirit and security in the love of God. The Emperor threatened him with exile:

“You CAN’T exile me the whole world is my father’s house.”

“Then I will kill you,” said the emperor.

“You CAN’T,” said John, “for my life is hid with Christ in God.”

“Then I will take away your treasures.”

“You CAN’T, for my treasure is in heaven.”

“Then I will drive you away from men and you will have no friends left!”

“You CAN’T, for I have a friend in heaven from whom I cannot be separated. I defy you, for there is nothing that you can do to hurt me!”

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2012 6:26 pm

    Great Post Mike! I always love learning and hearing about the saints of old. Reminds us all that we really have nothing to fear.

    • January 27, 2012 7:01 pm

      If only we could have such faith… something to strive for!

  2. January 27, 2012 2:43 am

    Wow! This is a powerful statement of absolute Faith. We should all be so blessed. We are given all it takes, all we have to do is put fear aside and Believe. This is a great post, Mike. I think I will write it out by hand, and keep it close to my heart; always handy when the Accuser attacks. God bless you!

    • January 27, 2012 7:02 pm

      Glad you found it helpful Susan! I found it really powerful too!

  3. January 27, 2012 12:49 pm

    Only one thing to say: AMEN!

  4. nancy permalink
    September 12, 2013 3:58 pm

    I heard a sermon from a series Tullian Tchividjian did entitled, “Jesus + Nothing = Everything” where he quoted Chrysostom. It is such a powerful response and really orients us to look at Christ rather than ourselves and the world. Whenever I get discouraged, which is happening a lot lately, I find this truth to be so comforting. I cannot lose anything due to my union with Christ. And even more so, I am liberated to give. The gospel is truly the only liberating message out there.

Leave a Reply

