Skip to content

Book Review: ‘The Vow’ by Kim & Krickitt Carpenter

June 6, 2012

Film BookI’ve just finished reading one of those books you’re gripped by and steal every possible minute to read! I read “The Vow” in a day, as it was so engaging, easy to read and encouraging. The book is the moving story of a newly married couple, Kim and Krickitt, who’s lives are changed when they are in a serious car accident just 10 weeks into their marriage. They both suffer physical injuries from the accident, but the wife, Krickitt, suffers more serious injuries, which include brain damage. Krickitt loses her memory of the year and half before the accident, which includes the time she has met, got to know and married Kim.  The book tells the story of their lives after the accident.

After watching the film at the cinema I was interested to hear that it was inspired by a true story. Now that I have read the book, I must say that the film is only very loosely based on the true events and that one of the clear aspects of the story which was missed in the film was the fact that Kim and Krickitt are a Christian couple. The important role of the couple’s faith in God and the amazing difference which that made in their extremely traumatic situation was very clear throughout.

The couple’s account is very honest and full of integrity. The pain and struggles they faced are honestly described, as Kim explained;

As I lay awake each night praying and thinking about how I was going to adapt to this new life, I would be afraid one minute, mad the next, and everlastingly confused. All kinds of questions flew through my mind. What will life be like from now on? What kind of person will Krickitt turn out to be? Will she always be different? Is the young woman I married still in there, or is she gone for good? When will we know that her recovery has stopped–that she has improved as much as she is going to? It was all I thought about. I couldn’t sleep, I couldn’t relax, I couldn’t get rid of the stress…The doctor had told me there were some things she would never remember. The most agonising question of all was: Would one of those things be me? I quickly put that thought from my mind. I couldn’t bear to contemplate the fact that my wife might never remember me. (“The Vow”, Carpenters, 2012, page 88)

The couple’s faith in God, who is in charge and has a purpose, who is loving and able to give them all that was needed, was strong without. Soon after the accident Krickitt wrote in her diary;

Life is very good. Therapy is confusing at times. I miss the way things used to be with steady Bible study and church meetings, but I know that’s the way things are. The Lord is constantly teaching us. I know He has me in His right pocket and I’m very safe there. I love to see Him really work in my life, and I know He’ll use me in His due time. [Kim narrated;] My wife may have been confused, she may have lost some of her memory, but she still knew her God. She knew he was in control, and she knew he was working in her life and intended to use her to do his work in his time [page 81]

The book is also an account of their personal relationship with God and growth in their trust of Him, as Kim remembered a conversation he had with Krickitt’s physical therapist;

“Krickett needs somebody strong, confident and forgiving; you’ve got to be that to her, but you can’t do it by yourself. You need God, Kim”.
“You’re right”, [Kim] said, “But it’s tough to think that way when just getting through the day often seems like an impossible task.”
“God hasn’t forgotten you,” he said with quiet confidence. ” God will never forget you. He says he will never leave you comfortless, and he won’t. You can’t use him up or wear him out. Hang on to him, Kim. He’s the most powerful force for good you have. He won’t forget you. So please don’t forget him.”

The book is also a story of commitment; God’s commitment to Kim and Krickitt, their commitment to God and their commitment to each other. I don’t want to give much away, but would just encourage you to read it. It is a shame that they’ve emblasoned a trashy looking film picture cover on the book, but please don’t let it put you off! It is well worth looking past the cover and discovering the true story contained within the covers!On a personal note, almost 7 weeks into marriage, it is a reminder that Mike and I don’t know what the future will hold. Anything could happen, but we can face it if we keep trusting God, His goodness and His purposes and rely on Him for all that we need, as Krickitt prayed;

“Dear Lord, I thank you so much for being by my side and being so faithful to me. I need you now, and daily. I can see that I cannot do this in my own strength, but I need you to carry me and help me through each and every day” (page 129).

It’s also a reminder to be thankful for all the good things that God gives us and to trust Him for now and the future, whatever His plans involve, whether they’re inline with our plans or not. It’s the reminder that God knows best, He sees the big picture and is with us every step of the way. It’s the encouragement that God is right there with us, helping us, equipping us and comforting us, if we’ll only trust Him, acknowledge our weakness and be humble enough to ask for His help.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 10, 2012 8:54 pm

    I didn’t see the movie, but I so wanted to. I think i would rather buy the book now 🙂

Leave a Reply

