Skip to content

Seasons Change, but God Stays the Same

August 29, 2012

Changing TimesWell, Mike and I are moving to Oxford on Monday! Yes, that is in 5 days time – I can’t quite believe it! I have a whole mix of different thoughts and feelings. I had been feeling stressed for quite a few days and thus, probably a bit grumpy and difficult to live with (sorry, Mike!), but yesterday and today I have been feeling quite calm.

I have been thinking about the idea of ‘seasons’ and that “there is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens” (Ecclesiastes 3:1) – things inevitably change and there are certain situations in our life which are right for a time and then it’s time to move onto something else, or for something to change. I think I have come to appreciate this more as I have grown up.

I used to have unrealistic expectations of how many people I would be able to keep in touch with and would promise to ‘keep in touch’ with a lot of people! I think that this was because I found it hard to let go and accept that there are some things, and some people, who come into our lives for a certain season. God knows just what, or whom, we need and when. Often someone can play a big role in our lives, just for a certain time. I think of my roommate from my first year at university, for example, who was a big part of my life for a year, but we are no longer in touch. Of course, many friendships do endure through the years and I am very blessed to have a collection brilliant friends from various seasons in my life, but I have also had the pleasure to have been close to people just for a certain season of my life.

Mike and I have so many good friends here and will be sad to leave, but it has been a privilege and blessing to have shared our lives with them for the last few years and we have made many friends who we hope will be friends for life. Leyland will always be special to us, because so many pivotal things have happened here; we have both grown so much in our faith in Christ through our time at the church here, we met each other and started our married life here. We have also known the support and love of such good friends, particularly through St Andrew’s and Wellfield churches, who have helped and encouraged us so much and who we will miss.

Despite all we are leaving, it feels like the start of a ‘new chapter’ with lots of exciting opportunities. Mike is starting his theological training with the Church of England, which he has been wanting to do for years, so it’s great to finally get there. Of course, I’m sure that the first few weeks will be quite nerve-wracking, but there are lots of new people to meet, a chance to set up our flat knowing we’ll be there for 3 years, a few great churches to choose from and on top of that I’ll be closer to my parents and my brother and sister-in-law. God is good!

Once again, I’ve been struck by the truths of a song we sang at church:

Now unto the king who reigns over all,
and never changes or turns
Unfailing justice, unfading grace,
Whose promises remain,
Yes, Your promises remain.

The heavens ring, the saints all sing,
Great is your faithfulness
From age to age we will proclaim
Great is your faithfulness,
How great is your faithfulness.

Everything changes, but your stay the same;
your word and kingdom endure
we lean on the promise of all that you are,
and trust forevermore
we will trust forevermore.

From generation to generation
you never fail us oh God
Yesterday and today and tomorrow
until the day you return.

If you want to listen to the song, you can find it here (although I couldn’t find it with a good video, so best just to listen)!

So, I sit here on the verge of a big change, but I’m trusting God and looking forward to what He has planned for us for the next chapter of our lives. Let the next part of the adventure begin!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Lou Hunter permalink
    August 29, 2012 7:55 pm

    That was lovely to read. I agree about people being around for certain times in your life. I too struggle to let go and want to keep in touch with everyone I’ve ever worked with, been at school with etc. We will miss you Natalie and Mike but am so glad God is moving you on to the next stage in your life together. Will be praying for you as you move away and we hope to welcome you back to the North in three years time. Lou xx

    • Natalie permalink*
      August 29, 2012 8:41 pm

      Thank you very much for your comment Lou – we really appreciate your prayers and will also miss you! xx

  2. August 30, 2012 7:22 pm

    May God bless you both richly on this new leg of your life’s journey, Natalie. Sounds like you are in for some exciting changes.
    Blessings!

    • Natalie permalink*
      August 31, 2012 9:16 am

      Thank you very much Martha 🙂

  3. jerly permalink
    September 1, 2012 11:39 am

    I am bad at letting go and some of my posts are on moving on and starting all over!I always remember the line “At least it was there for some time” better that than to never have had

Leave a comment